Showing posts with label Pejo's. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Pejo's. Show all posts

Saturday, March 31, 2012

February 25, 1970 (Letter from Gail)


You would not believe how cold it is here tonite.  I was over at the coffee house till about 10:00 so on my way home I checked the temp -- 2+ out!  Oy!  I can't stand this damn weather much longer!  I wish spring would hurry up and get here.  Oh -- for that warm weather!!

I've been keeping myself pretty busy lately.  I'm in 2 plays this semester.  A short 1 act play for the coffee house -- get this -- only 2 people in it -- me and this boy.  Sharp, huh?  Then I have a real small bit part in our Drama Club spring production.  I'm really excited about both of them.  The C.H. one is March 20 and 23 and the other one is the end of April.

Last weekend I stayed at Patti Suppa's house.  Her parents went to Fla for 2 wks ( those lucky SOB's) so 3 of us stayed there for the weekend, Sheryl Larson, Barb Check, and me.  Barb is staying for the full 2 wks.  Well, Friday night we went bar-hopping.  We hit the biggest dives in J'town I think.  1st Shorty's (naturally) then Pejo's -- picked up some EOC kids, went to the Silver Dollar and Samuels.  We got back in town at 1:00 and Pat and this other girl that was with us stopped at the T&C and Allegheny Hotel and got served!  Oh wow -- what a night.  I didn't get drunk though.  Got in about 2:30.  Sat nite was even better, we went to Satellite Lounge bowling for awhile -- then barhopping again.  We went to one place -- oh god -- it was a real western saloon -- with Merle Haggard on the juke box and real cowboys dancing with their chicks!  Funny!  Then at 5 to 1 we found the greatest bar -- called the Sportsman Cafe -- the place isn't much, but the bartender is fabulous!  A young Italian guy -- "Bootsie" they call him.  Well he told us if we came back in 2 weeks, he'd buy us all a free drink -- there were 8 of us.  Great!!!  We got back about 2:00 then everyone came in and ate pizza.  Then at 4:00 we went for a ride around town with a six pack.  All I could see was the cops pulling us over.  Oy, I was scared but nothing happened -- thank god!  We got home at 5:00 and I finally went to bed.  I was absolutely exhausted -- a little drunk too, but that's beside the point.  I had a great weekend!  So now you probably think I'm a lush, etc.  But you know me better than that.  Right?  Hey, have you heard from Mark?  I haven't.  When are you coming home.  Be good and take care.

Wednesday, March 21, 2012

October 26, 1969 (Letter from Gail)


If you only knew how sorry I was for not writing to you sooner -- you have my most heart-felt apologies.  Do you accept them and am I forgiven?

It was really great hearing from you and I guess when you lose touch with someone like that over the summer, it makes that first letter in the fall sound so much better.  Right?  My summer sounds about the same as yours. I ate, slept, worked at gold ole Tiny Town, and took a 3 hr. course at EOC for 6 wks.  I hated to start school in the fall because none of the kids that we were really friendly with last year were coming back.  I miss them.  EOC ain't what it used to be.  I got elected to be a member of student govt again this yr and plus on the board -- govt is so-so.  Not too much has been happening in my life so far.  A bunch of us girls went to Shorty's last weekend and then again this past Fri nite.  It was so damn crowded that we all left and went to -- ready -- Pejo's.  God it was funny!  I haven't been there since senior week 1968!  Angie was unreal -- we bought 2 pitchers of beer so she gave us a third one FREE plus a big dish of popcorn!  But seeing as how we were the only people in the joint, she figured she had to be nice to us to get us to come back. There were 56 of us girls and then 7 more kids that go to EOC followed us up there.  It was really beautiful.  Then we stopped off at Shorty's on the way home just long enough to use the bathroom, then we left.  God, if that didn't look obvious!

We had midterms this past week.  Oy vay!  They were so tuff!  But I can't believe 1/2 of the semester is gone already!  Wow!

Last Sun my parents were going down around Penn State to visit some friends, so Sheryl Larson and I went along and they dropped us off at PSU to spend the day with Leslie Stein.  Well we got right before Ridgway and the hood of the car pops up -- right in our faces!  I was panic stricken. The damn thing did it twice.  So my dad bought a chain and chained it down and it was ok for the rest of the trip and on the way home.  To top this off -- my dad made a wrong turn and to get back on the right road he had to cross a median in the road and just as he got on the damn thing, a state trooper comes by and pulls us over.  My father got a $15 fine for driving on the wrong side of the road!  It was quite some day.  I'll say!  I hope I never have to go through it again.  I sat for the rest of the trip (after the hood flew up) with my fingers crossed and my eyes closed.  I was so-o-o scared!!!

Nothing much has happened in Warren lately.  Except it snowed here for 2 days last week.  Ugh!

Congratulations on your new car.  It sounds really nice.  Bring it home some weekend.  I'd like to see it.  What color is it?

I'm so mad at Mark.  I wrote him 3 wks ago and he hasn't answered me back.  Oh well.  Leslie hears from him quite regularly.  He calls her up at lest once a week and he's going down to see her sometime next month.  I guess.  Oh well.  WAHS played Kane yesterday.  We beat them 46-0  That's not saying much for the Dragons though, Kane kicked 14 guys off their team for drinking.  See what I mean.

Take care and come home soon.  Get out of the smog and get some fresh clean country air in your lungs!  Ha!